In which I create actions for the new month to maintain my life (#7).

Back to school time always feels like a new start, even though I haven’t been in school in almost a decade. (How is that possible?) This year, the beginning of September marks some exciting new opportunities for my family, so I’m really feeling it. Here is what I’ll be working on this month:

To address being active and present in my life, I’ll be attempting to compose and take one picture a day of mundane daily life. I want to capture the small differences in my days as well as some of the routines. I’ll be setting up the camera on the tripod, using the remote shutter triggers I have, or trying to take a more thoughtful photo on my cell phone. I want to be in most of the pictures. I have countless pictures of the baby going through the days, but many fewer of the two of us. I also want to challenge myself with the photography itself and really focus on experimenting with composition. I even have a new camera tutorial to work through, and I’ll have a chance to play around with photography with the best friend this month as well. If I can’t create what I want in-camera, I’ll be cropping to get more interesting shots.

To tackle routines that support but not restrict me, I’ll be continuing to work on getting the house to a straightened, clean baseline that I can maintain more easily. Each remaining week in September, I want to focus on getting one room squared away. As I clean, edit, and straighten, I’ll be looking for the regular activities that need to happen for easy maintenance. First up is the living room, where we spend most of our time. It shouldn’t need a lot of work, so I may even start a second room this week.

In order to get back to feeling awesome, I challenged the best friend to a capsule wardrobe of 15 items (not including accessories) for at least 15 days. At that point, we are going to decide whether or not to extend to the rest of the month.We have very different dressing requirements, and different styles… it makes sense that we would also have different goals. I have been working on building a wardrobe that is comfortable, interesting enough to not require a ton of thought or accessories, and all in similar colors so that I can change out one piece of clothing midday without changing everything. For this challenge, I’ll be taking things a bit further and creating two very similar blocks of 15 items. My goal is to have a full set of options clean at any one time so that I can embrace the flexibility of having a somewhat more adaptable toddler who doesn’t have time commitments. I want to be able to make some visits I’ve been planning. I’m very excited about this challenge, and I will be posting more soon on my specific pieces. Today is the first day! I will be combining this with my photo goal, so hopefully I’ll be able to post some weekly progress.

Happy September, folks. I’m going to try hard to be back.

One thought on “

Comments are closed.