I Have my Moments: Week 3

In which I reflect on the past week for a challenge I issued to myself, Katie W., and the best friend.

These are the moments that struck me from last week…

… to live in a home that fits the best of us.
I am thinking more this week about what I don’t want our home to be like, especially as we finish packing up and cleaning out our rental house. I’ll be thrilled when we only have ourselves to deal with, but I’m also reminded how short cuts can come back to bite you down the road at a time when I’m tempted to start making some in our own house. I’ll continue trying to do things as correctly as I can, and hopefully that will make our improvements last longer.
… to feel awesome.
Over our visit at Thanksgiving, I helped my nephew ease into sleep a handful of times. My extensive knowledge of Disney and Broadway song lyrics came in handy, and I felt awesome. He’s sweet all the time, but those moments when he’s dropping off are extra cute.
… to have routines that support but not restrict me.
I spent several hours reading over the holiday break, and I love love loved it. Just sitting there for a long time was so much more relaxing and enjoyable than trying to squeeze reading in around all the other distractions and chores. I should make it a point to have more extended reading time and break some of the less than stimulating routines I’ve fallen into: putzing around on the computer, watching worthless TV to fill the time, working in circles around the house and accomplishing less in more time.
… to be active and present in my life.
I spent a lot of time talking to and playing games with my family last week, which made it easy to feel present in my life. The holidays can blur by, but I really got to enjoy this one.
… to live broadly.
Courtesy of my in-laws, I’ve tasted and brought home a bottle of Lemoncello to experiment with. So my alcohol selection has broadened to accompany the nice new bar that we had delivered last week.
2 thoughts on “I Have my Moments: Week 3

Comments are closed.