Five Places to Visit

In which, after a year and a half of living in this area, I narrow down my list of places to visit to my top five (#68).

It has taken me a while to narrow down my list of things to do around here. During that time, I’ve been to a bunch of places on my initial list. So, in no particular order, here they are:

1. Go to the glass blowing studio and attend a gallery walk at the Chrysler Museum.
The Chrysler Museum in Norfolk is known for their glass art and the visiting artists in their glass blowing studio. In addition, they offer free gallery walks where someone will take a group through and focus on different themes within the museum’s collection and temporary exhibitions. I think that both of these would be a quick and interesting addition to a weekend, and hopefully prompt a more thoughtful conversation at home than deciding what to watch next on the television.

2. Go to a professional show.
We’ve been to a few community theatre productions and enjoyed them, but nothing takes the place of a professional theatre company. I have high hopes that once we go to a show we’ll choose to get season tickets and branch out on some of the productions that we wouldn’t normally choose to go to. While this isn’t necessarily something I can only do here, I do think that having something similar to what I enjoyed so much during our time in Richmond would make this feel even more like home.

3. Spend a day or weekend on the Eastern Shore.
I don’t really know what form this will take, but I want to take advantage of our close proximity to explore a bit of the Eastern Shore. We’ve been down to the Outer Banks a couple of times since we moved here, but neither of us have ever been out to the Eastern Shore, so it would be nice to experience that together.

4. Fly a kite on Mount Trashmore
I can’t remember the last time I flew a kite, so this might not go very well. But when compacted trash and soil make up the highest point around, it only seems right to get out there to pull a Mary Poppins and go fly a kite.

5. Visit Beach Brewing Company
This just sounds like it would be a lot of fun to go and pick out a brew and get a growler or bomber of a craft beer to enjoy at home.

So those are the top five things I’m looking forward to around here. I’m sure there’s a ton of stuff that didn’t make the cut this round, not to mention all the things we’ve already done at least once that I can’t wait to get back to.

One thought on “Five Places to Visit

Comments are closed.