Ireland

In which I return home after travelling out of the country with the hubs (#63).

There we are, on a windy but remarkably clear and warm day. Look at that sky! Not a cloud in sight, much less a threat of rain. This was about halfway through our trip, from the top of a passage tomb at Bru na Boinne. It was one of my favorite stops of the trip. The yellow field behind us was one of many in that area that were shockingly vibrant. I learned later that it was linseed growing. We spent eleven days really sightseeing and touring around in our rental car. We visited a lot of different places on the island, and came away with a list of things we’d love to do if we get back there some day.

I couldn’t be happier with how the trip went. We planned for full days, and I really feel like I got the most out of my time as I could. We saw tons of historically important and interesting sites, tried to get a feel for how people live, and took some time to recenter and reconnect a bit. I came back feeling refreshed and happier to be home than I’ve felt in a long while. The trip was challenging in all the right ways, and has given me a lot to think about.

So, now we have returned home, trying to get back to regular life again. The vacation was really wonderful, but that feeling of balance is already fading around here, a mere day back into work. I’ll be embarking on lots of projects and plans starting this weekend. I’m eager to keep some of that vacation energy and feeling, and working on a scrapbook of it is a great way to start.  And it will prompt me to get some steps into backing up and organizing my computer — apparently I have my hard drive partitioned (I didn’t remember that) and the partition I’ve been using is too full to transfer all the photos I took on our trip! So I’ll be formatting our external hard drive, backing things up, and then deleting the partition so that I have full usage of my computer. All in the name of slowly combing through, editing, and ordering the photos I took — probably close to a thousand. (Yikes! My excuse is that I couldn’t always see how they turned out due to glare on the screen, so I kept multiples that can be easily reduced.)

And, of course, I’ll be thinking about where we can go next.

One thought on “Ireland

  1. And here I was expecting a thousand pictures of cloudy skies and bundled Kristens. I’m so glad you had a good time and I can’t wait to hear all about it!

    Maybe together we can find a way to keep that energy going…

Comments are closed.