Spicy Basil Chicken

In which I post about my first new recipe this month as part of my monthly missions for April (#32).

I have been attempting to boost my healthy choices recently. That plays into this monthly mission in a lot of ways — I want to cook a new recipe each week to broaden my horizons and provide myself with a little bit of a challenge. I’m attempting to make meals on the healthier end of the spectrum because I am attempting to exercise and eat better, for Ireland and life after. I want to get back to blogging new recipes so that I can remember them, but also to push for that extra bit of creativity in my week.

Last week, I pulled our recipe from a recent issue of Cooking Light. It was tasty, but the smell from the fish sauce was a bit off-putting and lingered in the house. I made some adjustments to that original recipe when I posted it over on the food blog. I’m excited about making it again with the small changes.

We used to stir-fry a lot more than we have been lately. This spring, I’m bringing it back. I think this particular recipe is pretty versatile, since the veggies are separate and could easily be changed. Next time we make it, I think I’m going to chop the chicken into bits and serve it in lettuce cups. It would be nice and fun, and cut the starch of the rice.

One thought on “Spicy Basil Chicken

Comments are closed.