Bossypants and Zigzag

In which I talk about the second and third of five non-fiction books that caught my eye (#87).


I recently read Tina Fey’s new memoir, Bossypants. Nominally focused on her as a boss, it was more like a collection of humorous essays. It is a quick read, and one that I’d recommend. It would be good vacation reading, since it is easy to go in and out of.

I don’t have much to say about it, I guess. If you like Tina Fey, you’ll like this.

I also recently read Agent Zigzag, by the same author as my first non-fiction book of the list, Operation Mincemeat. Agent Zigzag was the code name for a British double agent in WWII. Eddie Chapman was a criminal in prison on a Channel Island, which was occupied by Germany. He volunteered to spy for the Nazis and promptly turned himself over to the British when he was sent to infiltrate England. Of course, there are many more zigs and zags to the story — but that would be telling.

I think this would be a pretty good vacation book too. It is much shorter than Mincemeat, and the story reads like a James Bond novel (not surprisingly).

I would recommend both of them. What have you been reading? I could use a new direction here.

One thought on “Bossypants and Zigzag

Comments are closed.