Meal Prepping

In which I tackle three — count ’em, three — goals in one post (#2, #4, #5).


The hubs and I spent a bit of time this weekend completing my goal to prepare meals and components ahead of time. I hope to do this periodically from now on. I hope that prepping easy ingredients ahead of time will help me to eat real meals while he’s away at training. I’ll make meals or components when I feel like cooking (or in this case, when the hubs can help me with cooking). Then I can pull out just as much as I need for one meal when I don’t feel like cooking. And pulling out just enough should help me waste less food.

So, what did we make ahead?

First off, a whole batch of these Turkey Meatballs. I placed them in a gallon ziploc bag, and froze them on a baking sheet so that they didn’t stick together too much. I made sure to pick up some marinara sauce, which I will freeze into portions after I use it the first time. Since I always have pasta and cheese on hand, this will allow me to make those meals heartier.

Keeping in that theme, I also prepped a double batch of these Chicken Meatballs for Chicken Teriyaki Meatball Stir-fry. The hubs and I had this for dinner on Sunday night, and I’ll be able to pull the snap peas, edamame, and meatballs out of the freezer to have easy meals later on. I’ve always got rice on hand, and I even have some premade teriyaki sauce to simplify things even further.

Lastly, I made a Chicken Enchilada Casserole, which is an experiment.  On Saturday night, we had these Chicken Enchiladas. I cooked up four chicken breasts and a whole bell pepper, which left enough extra filling to layer with corn tortilla strips and enchilada sauce. I layered it in a small French White corningware, one with the plastic lid. After topping the casserole with some shredded colby-jack cheese, I covered it and popped it into the freezer. I plan on thawing it out in the fridge before popping it (uncovered) into the oven to heat up. I haven’t made this before, so I’ll be sure to report back if it is a success. A can of refried beans in the pantry completes this meal.

All together, I have a lot of meals ready to go. I should be able to incorporate at least one prepped meal into my weekly meal plans for the rest of the time the hubs is away at training. (My newest meal plan is posted, if you’re interested.)

What do you prep ahead?

One thought on “Meal Prepping

  1. Way to plan! You’re like Rachel Ray’s Week in a Day (that her new show)!

    I still need to try these meatballs and I’m interested to hear how the casserole comes out 🙂

Comments are closed.