Growing Girls

In which I discuss the first of five books I will read about the adoption process (#31).

Photo from, and linked to, Amazon listing.

The hubs and I are not trying to have kids yet, but we’ve always known that we would want to. And we’ve always talked about adoption as a part of the plan, no matter how our child-getting biologics work out in the end.

I think that these steps are still a few years away for us, but I have included a lot of goals on my list to help me prepare physically, financially, and emotionally for that time. I don’t think that this is necessary, per se, but I would like to work towards such a big decision with a lot of little ones. I like to do things right when I get the chance. (It can be a problem.)

Enter my choice to read five books about the adoption process. Right now, for a variety of reasons both personal and practical, the hubs and I are planning on a foreign, rather than domestic, adoption sometime in our future. I intend to read a variety of books about the actual mechanics of adopting eventually, but I started with a memoir of life as an adoptive parent.

Growing Girls, by Jeanne Marie Laskas, is the third in a series of memoirs of finding love and moving to a farm, going through fertility treatments and adopting a baby from China, and her adopted family growing up. I had read the first two memoirs before, but Growing Girls was new to me.

I enjoyed the book on a reading level, and I finished it quickly. There were some sections, particularly about people’s reactions to her family choices and her paranoia thereof, that were thought-provoking. She talks about the way her choice to adopt, and to adopt from China, have shaped her relationships with others — but she also talks about her parenting decisions, life on the farm, and her marriage. It is presented as she lives it: all part of one cohesive whole.

Now, despite my continued wish for a teacup piggy, the hubs and I are definitely not cut out to be farm people. (Laskas doesn’t grow anything on her farm, but they have animals all over.) But keeping kids in balance with our marriage and the rest of our lives is something that I would like to do. And I can always appreciate one more picture of how that can work, tutus and all.

