Movie Date

In which I reflect on the first of five movies I will see with the hubs (#59) and attempt to avoid contractions.

My husband loves going to the movies. Not that I do not enjoy it, you understand, but I do not suggest it often. I included this goal on my list as a simple way to celebrate our relationship. We will watch five movies in a movie theatre, splurging on the most expensive popcorn in the world when the desire so moves us.

We tend to enjoy very different movies, but True Grit was fun for both of us. (I do not intend to really review the movie, because I cannot think of any reason why one would want my opinion on it over the many reviews that the internet can provide.)

Going in, I was worried about the level of violence in the film, as I do not appreciate movies that are so bloody that I miss half of the plot while looking away. I need not have worried. The violence was very condensed into sudden bursts. There were only a few scenes that I looked away from.

The hubs came out of the movie wanting to read the book, which is a high compliment in our house. At least it was in this incarnation: he wanted to read the book because the movie adaptation had convinced him it was good. (The other version, of course, is coming out of a movie wanting to read the book to see how much better it is than the adaptation. Not at all a compliment.)

In short, we would recommend it.

As for the contractions, the movie did not have any of them, and it made me realize how often I contract my words. All the time in writing, and even more often in speech. One of the small details which stuck in my mind after the movie. Try it sometime. I think it will be harder than you may think.

2 thoughts on “Movie Date

  1. Oh contractions… When I first ready that I thought baby contractions and frightened myself!

    Even reading your contraction-less post was awkward… Remember writing papers and you couldn’t use them? I mean could NOT use them. I’m just going to stop now. Crap, I AM!

    • It was considerably less awkward in the movie. I don’t think that it is historically accurate but it did ensure a cadence that could not have been mistaken for contemporary speech. I, of course, haven’t read the book, but perhaps it is true to the language of the original text rather than of the original time period?

Comments are closed.